Understanding Utah’s Child Labor Laws

Jun 3, 2024
Andi Mack (2017)/ Disney
"Andi Mack" Season 3 (2019) / Disney Channel / Fred Hayes

Minors play pivotal roles in Utah productions, but navigating the maze of child labor laws can be a daunting task for both employers and parents. Here are some regulations to know and resources to use when working with young people in Utah.

Restrictions For Working Minors

  • The Utah Labor Commission oversees the hiring of minors (children under 18 years old) in the workforce. Utah code chapter 23 lists the fundamental rules and requirements for working with minors. 
  • Productions must submit  an “Authorization to Hire a Minor Form” to the Utah Labor Commission and get written permission from the minor’s parent/guardian before the minor starts work. The authorization form can take up to 5 days to process, so productions should submit it as soon as possible. 
  • Minors have strictly limited working hours in most occupations. However, Utah lawmakers passed an update to Utah Code 34-23-207 that exempts minors in motion pictures from specific time and age restrictions in Spring 2024. As long as a production obtains the parent/guardian’s approval, minors can perform outside of usual work hours.
  • Minors may not work in hazardous occupations or environments. The Utah Labor Commission gives some exceptions in the case of apprenticeship programs, vocational training, and rehabilitation programs. If your minor performs stunts or becomes involved with any other hazards on set, your production will need written approval from the state first.

*Motion pictures are exempt from these time restriction laws, but may still use them as a guide.

Other Labor Laws

The rights that apply to adult workers also apply to minors. Productions must provide a 30-minute meal beak within five hours after work starts. Minors cannot work for more than 3 hours without a 10 minute rest period. Minors are also entitled to minimum wage. 

You can find local studio teachers and child welfare coordinators listed in the Utah Film Commission’s Crew Directory HERE. These individuals provide schooling to all school-aged minors and serve as a child advocate for all minors on set. 

Read more about labor laws in Utah Code R610-2-3  and the United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission website. If a production cannot meet all these standards but can prove it is still safeguarding the minor, the production may apply for an exemption with The Utah Labor Commission.

More Resources

Filmmakers and parents may use Utah code and SAG-AFTRA standards to guide their decisions while negotiating contracts, even though they may not be required to do so. Learn more about SAG-AFTRA’s standards for minors. This table shows the usual working restrictions for Minors 16 and under in Utah (not mandatory for film productions).

For any specific questions regarding the employment of minors in Utah, please contact the Utah Labor Commission directly. For questions specific to film sets, please contact the Utah Film Commission.

Top Right: "Andi Mack" Season 3 (2019) / Disney Channel / Fred Hayes